It’s all worth it.

I thought this month I’d share the text of an e-mail I got from a freshman named Tony at Babson:

Hi Brian!!

This is Tony from Babson.

I just wanted to let you know that I finally got to sit down in Reynolds with “Sarah” today. She was the girl I told you about who kept challenging Christianity in my Rhetoric class, but seemed very willing to discuss religion with me whe I asked her.  

I kept the meeting very light, and started it off discussed random things like how it is living in Park Manor North, coming to Babson, etc…

Then I made my move.

 First, I asked her what she believed. She said that she doesn’t believe God or anything, but does take bits and pieces of different religions that she finds useful or interesting.

So after that, I turned to the small booklet you gave me. I had to very briefly explain it to her because she was peer-pressured into seeing “Borat” in Sorenson with all of her close friends in the middle of our discussion. Seeing that she was going to leave, I went through the whole booklet in about a minute, which didn’t go so well.

After thinking about it, I actually consider it a blessing, because the conversation starting to go into my own experience with God (which way I chose to live and why), which I wasn’t prepared to talk about and was starting to screw up. But things were going fine up until that point.

Before she left, I gave her the booklet, so she has the message with her. I know she’ll probably read it, because she seems interested in the whole topic of faith and religion.

I asked her if she would like to meet again, and she said that she was more than willing. We have a good friendship developing, so there is still a good chance I can get through to her.

I apologize for the length of this email, but I had to tell you about my first “sales call”. Do you have any thoughts or suggestions for the next time I meet with her?

I hope everything is going well on your end. See you tomorrow night if you can still make it with the snow we’re supposed to get. Keep warm.

God Bless,

Tony

Isn’t it fun to see Tony take his first steps to introduce others to Jesus Christ? If you ever wonder if your support (prayer and financial) is worth it, consider students like Tony. It’s all worth it!

Tony’s closing question to me: Do you have any thoughts or suggestions for the next time I meet with her? How exciting is that?

Leave a comment